Regents Online Celebrates 10 Years of Success

November 3, 2011 --- The Regents Online Campus Collaborative celebrated its 10 year anniversary with an awards ceremony and luncheon at the TBR central office in Nashville on Friday, October 28.  Campus educators, administrators, and staff members from across Tennessee gathered to recognize individuals who have made significant contributions to the collaborative and to celebrate the program's success in providing educational access to over 200,000 Tennesseans.

Catalyst Award Winners

The following individuals worked tirelessly and selflessly to make post-secondary education accessible online for all Tennesseans. In the span of one year, this group set into motion major decisions on a degree framework, course development plan, articulation, a revenue sharing model, a new Learning Management System, SACS substantive change notification, credit transferability among institutions, financial aid eligibility, a common calendar, critical student support services, faculty development, and a marketing plan. As a result the Regents Online Degree Program successfully launched in September 2001.

The Catalyst Award winners are:

R. Jack Fishman, former Board of Regents member

Dr. Sidney McPhee, President, Middle Tennessee State University

Dr. Dan Lattimore, Vice Provost, University of Memphis

Dr. Ellen Weed, Vice President, Nashville State Community College (retired)

Dr. Robbie Melton, Associate Vice Chancellor, Tennessee Board of Regents

Award Winners of the Decade

Other campus educators and administrators were recognized for their contributions to the collaborative during its 10 year history after the program launch. Nominations were submitted by the campuses and award winner selections were made by a committee comprised of peers and ROCC staff members.

In addition to receiving individual recognition, each winner’s institution receives a monetary award that can be applied to educational technology, course development or professional development.   

The Award Winners of the Decade are:

Skip Sparkman, RODP Faculty Member of the Decade
Director of Distance Learning/Associate Professor of Communication
Volunteer State Community College
Richard Woodward
Tennessee Colleges of Applied Technology Faculty Member of the Decade
Debbie Green
Continuing Education Faculty Member of the Decade
Dr. George Meghabghab, Course Developer of the Decade
Professor of Computer Science
Roane State Community College
Dr. Andrea Sanders, Faculty Mentor of the Decade
Professor of English and Humanities
Chattanooga State Community College
Doug Jameson, Campus Contact of the Decade
Coordinator of Online Learning
Nashville State Community College
A video which documents the Catalyst Award winners' roles in the startup and launch of the Regents Online Degree Program can be viewed here.


Printer-friendly version
© 2016, Regents Online Campus Collaborative

© 2016, Regents Online Campus Collaborative
Privacy Statement

Tennessee Board of Regents is an AA/EEO employer and does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, disability, or age in its programs and activities.
Full Non-Discrimination Policy.